hasemandco.blogg.se

Martian movie matt damon
Martian movie matt damon











Scott calls The Martian his Robinson Crusoe and, in a sense, it's Damon's Cast Away.ĭamon spends the majority of the shoot in solitary confinement, acting against himself. I called my brother and he was like, 'Do you have a stud sensor?' I'm like, 'What?' I'm useless." I remember calling him when we were living in New York in this rental apartment, and I didn't want to put a nail in the wall to hang like, a poster. "My wife and I joke about the fact that I have a big brother and my big brother can fix anything," he says. In real life? Damon's gardening skills are "horrible," he says with a laugh. On Mars, Damon's astronaut is the MacGyver for a new generation, "a jack of all trades and a master of all," Scott says, who uses his own ingenuity to make water and grow potatoes (a feat on a planet with no soil). Praised as a story loaded with math and proven science (it was even fact-checked by NASA), The Martian hinges on one astronaut's ingenuity as he stretches 60 days of supplies on a hostile planet into enough to sustain him until a rescue mission (coordinated by Jeff Daniels on Earth) tries to reach him two years later. The Martian, shot partially in Jordan's red desert, was adapted by Drew Goddard ( World War Z, Lost) from Andy Weir's self-published e-book, which gained a cult following and became a 2014 best-seller. "It's like yes, I believe the entire world would come together to rescue Matt Damon." In person, "he's so charming, he's so funny," Chastain says. The first day we shot I did the first monologue, it's like a couple of pages, and Ridley said 'cut!' He just looked at me and goes, 'We should do two movies at once.' " "By the time I showed up (on the set), I had the entire script committed to memory just from having done it so many hundreds of times.

martian movie matt damon

With no one to play off of in the movie, set just slightly in the future, "I just rehearsed in my house, basically," Damon says.

martian movie matt damon

And as the lone human on Mars during The Martian's 141 minutes, he's very much alone. When a windstorm on the Red Planet threatens their lives, the NASA team (Jessica Chastain, Kate Mara, Michael Peña, Aksel Hennie and Sebastian Stan) flees, believing their colleague, botanist/astronaut Mark Watney (Damon), to be dead.īut he's very much alive.

martian movie matt damon

The star becomes The Martian in Ridley Scott's hyper-realistic sci-fi space drama (in theaters Friday), which follows a team of astronauts on a mission to Mars. LOS ANGELES - If there is one man the entire planet could agree on saving, it's probably Matt Damon. Watch Video: Matt Damon talks Martian potatoes













Martian movie matt damon